|
[A] [B] [C]
[E]
[H] [M] [N] [P] [R]
[U]
Which
database to use? | Where to Get Access
A
AMED
The Allied and Alternative Medicine Database (AMED) is produced by the Health
Care Information Service of the British Library. Its subject coverage includes:
complementary medicine, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, rehabilitation,
podiatry and palliative care.
Access: Available through NHS Evidence. Athens password required.
B
British Nursing Index (BNI)
Contains references (no abstracts) from over 200 British and English language
nursing-related journals.
Access: Available through NHS Evidence. Athens password required.
C
CINAHL
Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL). Coverage of the
literature related to nursing and allied health. More than 500 journals are regularly indexed and
abstracts are available for more than 150 of these.
Access: Available through NHS Evidence. Athens password required.
Clinical
Evidence
A compendium of evidence on the effects of common clinical interventions,
published by the BMJ Publishing Group. It provides a concise account of the
current state of knowledge, about the prevention and
treatment of a wide range of clinical conditions based on thorough searches of
the literature.
Access: Free Internet service. ATHENS password
required for access outside the Library.
Cochrane Library
Comprises the following databases: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews,
DARE,
Cochrane Controlled Trials Register, NHS Economic Evaluation Database and the
Health Technology Assessment Database.
Access: Available through NHS Evidence. Athens password required.
E
EMBASE
EMBASE is a biomedical and pharmaceutical database covering over 3500
international journals. Similar in many ways to Medline, but with a more
European and pharmaceutical emphasis
.
Access: Available through NHS Evidence. Athens password required.
H
Healthpromis
Health promotion database of the Health Education Authority
Access: Free Internet access. No password is required.
HMSO
Legislation
Free access to full text British Statutes and Statutory Instruments archived
from 1996.
Access: Free Internet service. No password is required.
M
Medline
Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. MEDLINE encompasses
information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International
Nursing Index, as well as other sources in the areas of allied
health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as
they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population
biology, and reproductive biology.
Access: Available through NHS Evidence. Athens password required.
N
National
Guideline Clearinghouse
A US produced database of clinical practice
guidelines
Access: Free Internet service. No password required.
National
Research Register (NRR)
UK based database of research of interest to NHS staff
Access: Free Internet service. No password is required.
P
POINT:
Publications on the Internet
Full-text (where available) of Department of Health publications.
Access: Free Internet service. No password required.
PsycINFO
PsycINFO covers literature, relevant to psychology from 1887-present and
contains more than 1.5 million references to journal articles, books, book
chapters, technical reports, and dissertations.
In addition to "core" psychology topics such as personality or mental health,
PsycINFO contains abstracts on behavioural topics from related
disciplines. You can find references about health care, education, business,
organizational behaviour, consumer behaviour, criminal justice, artificial
intelligence, and many more.
Access: Available through NHS Evidence. Athens password required.
R
RDinfo
A database of research funding and training opportunities in healthcare.
Produced by the Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust
Access: Free Internet service. No password is required.
U
UK
Official Publications on the Internet
Full-text of selected publications published by the Stationery Office.
Access: Free Internet service. No password required.
Which
database to use?
- You just want some references
to journal articles!
In
this case, the best databases to start with would be:
- Medline or EMBASE (for medical
topics)
- CINAHL or the British Nursing
Index (for nursing and midwifery topics)
- PsycINFO (for psychiatry and
psychology related topics)
Otherwise, you may need to ask the
following questions…
- What type of material are you
looking for?
Different databases retrieve
different types of information. Some will give you a list of references to
journal articles, others will give you systematic reviews or official
publications in full text form.
Each entry in the A – Z list gives
a rough idea of what type of information you can expect to retrieve from that
database.
- What subject does your search
cover?
This is a rough guide to what
databases cover which subjects. There is substantial overlap, so for example,
articles on complementary therapies may also be found in CINAHL and PsycINFO,
and systematic reviews may be found in Medline.
Where
to Get Access in the Library
Database Room
Located first on the right in the
Jenny Wade room on Level 4. Access to all databases.
Book Room Alcove
Located in the book room on Level 5. Access to all databases.
Further Information
There is no charge for
printing of reference lists from databases. All other printing is charged at 5p
per page.
Please ask for the password to get
access to NHS Evidence databases in the Library
|